Messi Passes Penalty to Give Suárez a Hat Trick

484

Barcelona star Lionel Messi is used to being on the front pages for his amazing soccer skills and for being one of the best players of all time.

On Sunday, however, in a La Liga matchup against Celta Vigo, he hit the headlines for…something unorthodox.

Up 3-1 in the 81st minute, Barcelona were awarded a penalty.  Messi stepped up like he has dozens of times in the past decade.  This time, however, instead of shooting it, Messi played a side pass his give his teammate Luis Suárez his third goal of the game.

Check out the unusual penalty below.

.
Ultimately, the referee correctly ruled that Barcelona’s penalty procedure was in fact legal, and the goal stood.

This is one of the few times in modern history we’ve seen a PK taken like this.  We have to go all the way back to 1982 to see the Dutch legend Johan Cruyff try a similar tactic while playing for Ajax.

What do you think?